TEJI TUESDAYS - 30th January 2024

feeling lost in your 20s, building community, electronic music, fahrenheit 451, youtube burnout

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #014 · 30th Jan, 2023

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

Feeling Lost in Your 20s

I have no idea what is going on. I’ve just finished university and I’m out in the real world now. It’s quite confusing figuring out where you should go, what you should do and where you should be focussing on in your life.

I’m making videos, writing, reading, coding and now learning how to produce music and I still feel lost — But I also have a feeling you may be experiencing something similar, if you’re also in your 20s trying to figure out this clusterfuck of emotions and experiences we call life.

Today I randomly stumbled upon this short 5 minute video I found some comfort in. I even had a little laugh at the thought of realising we’re all in this together. I don’t think anyone ever really figures it all out, we’re all just freestyling this shit.

Build The Community You Wish Existed

On Sunday night my friend Josh (Korean Jesus) and I organised a group dinner with 10-12 other creatives from Sydney. We had designers, YouTubers, videographers, photographers, the list goes on. We all sat around a huge table somewhere in Chinatown and went around in a circle and spoke about who we all were and what we do.

I thought this was so fucking sick, having a group of like minded people come together and just chop it up. I’ve experienced community like this before in a digital art collective I’m a part of called Making It — However, the only thing with Making It is that all my friends are over in the states.

So I thought why not try bring that energy to Sydney, since I know how much of an impact having a group of like minded friends like Making It has had on my life.

If you’re reading this and are in Sydney and are interested in coming to our next catch up. Please don’t hesitate messaging me. I know a lot of my readers personally so the door is wide open for anyone wanting to tag along.

I’m working on an Electronic Music Album

Last week my brother taught me how to produce my own music in FL Studio. I’ve already made like 15+ songs in a span of one week and am currently assembling a little album I plan on releasing very soon.

Since the readers here are my favourite part of my audience I thought I’d give you some private links to a couple of the songs I’ve made. Let me know what you think!

Fahrenheit 451

I just finished reading Fahrenheit 451. Which is basically a story about a world were all books have been banned and must be burnt. It was a fantastic read that I thought was highly relevant today — especially when it comes to censorship and freedom of speech. I won’t spoil too much but I will say it was definitely one of my favourite books I’ve read in a while!

Short Break from YouTube

As mentioned above I've been feeling lost especially when it comes to the direction of my content, especially on YouTube. For the past 15 weeks I’ve posted a video each and every week but as of late I’d been beginning to feel small amounts of creator burn out. Which is why I’ve taken a step back to learn how to code, produce music etc.

A while back I wrote an article on how I deal with writers block/ creative blocks that you might find interesting here.

I’m just taking a few weeks of to reset and figure out the type of videos I want to create that I’m going to be proud of and find fulfilment in creating.

If you are missing the videos no need to fear, I will be back shortly.

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!