TEJI TUESDAYS - 28th May 2024

stop seeking negativity, the personal web, first principles, digital ownership, secret journal

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #031 · 28th May, 2023

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

Your mind is always seeking negativity

Whatever it is, it’s never that bad. Even in positive situations your mind will try play tricks on you and rob you of your happiness. Take a look at this great tweet I’ve experienced all too well especially in the web3 space.

If you notice it happening, make sure to remind yourself that your mind is just trying to keep you safe. Acknowledge it, move on and don’t let it ruin your day.

The personal web

Last week I wrote about how much I’ve loved having my own personal website. It feels like I’m experiencing the internet for the first time again.

I’m exploring and finding other peoples personal sites through links all over the web and on directories like webrings. That help bring a sense of curation to what people are calling the personal web.

If by any chance your getting tired of instagram, tiktok or the traditional world of social media. I’d urge you to take a look over the personal web and take the time to read over some longer form content.

There’s a great video below explaining The personal web movement, if you’re still confused.

First Principles

I heard the term first principles get thrown around multiple times this week. It wasn’t until I listened to Tim Urban break down exactly what that meant on the Lex Fridman show, that I understood what all these people had been talking about.

This shift from analogy to first principle thinking is a great way to explore uncharted territories by ignoring so called convention. Most people in business, art or whatever field they are in are generally just copying the industry leaders.

Here’s a great example I found here explaining the difference between analogy and principle first thinking.

The difference between reasoning by first principles and reasoning by analogy is like the difference between being a chef and being a cook. If the cook lost the recipe, he’d be screwed. The chef, on the other hand, understands the flavor profiles and combinations at such a fundamental level that he doesn’t even use a recipe. He has real knowledge as opposed to know-how.

From what I understand there’s usually a few trailblazers in each industry that don’t follow the rules but create them.

Usually after they find success there’s hundreds of copycats who try to emulate their approach. Yet what the copycats don’t understand is why the original approach worked in the first place.

These trailblazers broke whatever problem down into its most core principles and made their own judgment. They didn’t listen to a YouTube video that told them what was right, they ignored the consensus and formed their own conclusion.

Critical thinking in the age of AI has been on my mind for the past year. Understanding biases and what influences our decision making is something that really fascinates me.

I plan on doing more research into first principles reasoning and how to come to your own conclusions.

It’s exciting to think that the coolest inventions of the next 50 years have yet to be made.

NFTs, IP Rights & The Metaverse

Last week I listened to one of the best podcasts on web3 and crypto in a long time. It breaks down why digital ownership matters and how this new system evens the playing field for people all over the world. Take a listen below if your interested.

My secret journal

I recently started writing an online journal you can check out here. I try update it as much as possible with some insights from my days. I probably won’t mention it too much in the future as it’s more of a way for me to work through some of my ideas and other things from my days. Feel free to check it out for a deep dive into some of my thought processes.

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!