TEJI TUESDAYS - 26th March 2024

Get paid to doom-scroll, generative AI, humanmade, stop thinking, TEJI

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #022 · 26th Mar, 2024

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

Get Paid to Doom-scroll

A few weeks ago I found an app called drakula.app which is basically TikTok on the blockchain. If you create a decentralised social media account on Warpcast and connect it to your crypto wallet you can earn an in app token called $BLOOD which is currently untradeable. However, if you start using the app today you can start stacking your blood for literally watching, sharing and donating blood to users you like.

If you haven’t made an account on Warpcast I’d highly urge you to get setup especially because it’s becoming the hub for the upcoming crypto bull run where all the best creators, founders and thought leaders are all discussing what’s happening in the space.

Generative AI - We aren’t ready

I recently watched a creepy video predicting the world we are about to enter with the explosive emergence of generative AI. If you didn’t already know the majority of content and users online today is generated by either bots or AI and this is only going to get worse and worse.

If this is something you’re interested in you definitely need to watch the below video.

Humanmade

One of my favourite artists of all time is Tom Sachs. One of my favourite quotes of his is:

Apple Could Never Make Anything as Shitty as the Things I Make”

Which plays perfectly into the need for human connection in today’s society. If you watched the above video in this newsletter you’d realise most of the things online today are complete garbage.

Most people today want to authentically connect to other people. Which is the exact reason why I enjoy Sachs’ work.

The majority of Sachs’ body of work contains thousands of little flaws from paint drips, to stains, to joinery being slightly off. Each of these distinct elements help give his work a touch of humanity.

Which leads me to my thesis on creativity moving into the future. I strongly believe the demand for handmade goods and things that you know were made by another living, breathing human being will drastically increase as we only become more disconnected from one another.

If you’re interested in hearing more about Tom Sachs check out this 9 year old presentation he did on Authenticity to learn more about his practice.

Stop thinking.

Here’s a quote I found this week by Ray Bradbury I thought was very relevant to myself right now.

“Don’t think. Thinking is the enemy of creativity. It’s self-conscious, and anything self conscious is lousy. You can’t try do things. You simply must do things.”

From my own experience creating I can confirm when I’m not worrying or overthinking things I typically reach a better outcome.

We’re keeping TEJI :)

Sorry for the back and forth in the last couple newsletters saying I was rebranding to Jet Williams. I’ve decided to just keep what I’ve created till now. I’ve already put so much time and energy into TEJI and I feel like it’s only right to keep at it.

At the end of the day TEJI is my name backwards and is a reflection of my world hence the flipped name.

Also, if you never read the origins of TEJI and the character I’d suggest you take a quick 5 minute read of a blog post I put out a couple years ago here.

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!