TEJI TUESDAYS - 21st May 2024

Everything is a remix, for you not to you, randomness, concave vs convex thinking, get going

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #030 · 21st May, 2023

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

Everything is a remix

By now you would’ve all heard me harp on about everything being a remix of a remix. Last week I found an interesting TED Talk on that exact topic from Kirby Ferguson who managed to explain my entire creative philosophy.

I personally think this mental model is a great way of thinking how we fit into the world around us and how much we rely on one another, in this weird yet wonderful world.

This is happening for you, not to you

Whenever I find myself in the midst of something challenging in life I like to remind me self of this simple principal.

This is happening for you, not to you

It’s been a huge unlock for taking back my power in the world by realising I have the ability to decide on how I’m going to react to any situation.

I once read online somewhere that,

A negative reaction to a positive situation is a negative experience.

A positive reaction to a negative situation is a positive experience.

Realising the ball is in my court when it comes to my happiness has been extremely empowering.

There’s a great blog post on this exact idea you can check out here.

You need a little randomness in life

Having my own personal website and blog has helped my life dramatically improve. I’ve really enjoyed writing as it’s become a great tool to help me work through my ideas and experiences.

By sharing my ideas online through text, video and photo I’ve been able to open the door to serendipity.

I would’ve never met any like minded strangers who I now call friends if I didn’t open the door to chance.

The internet is a powerful tool.

Which is why I urge everyone to setup their own website and start sharing their ideas with the world. There’s thousands of people out there just like yourself who can’t wait to meet you.

Concave Vs Convex Thinking

Last week I read one of my favourite blog posts this entire year from Vitalik Buterin (Creator of Ethereum) about Concave Vs Convex thinking models when making decisions.

Which basically just means people tend to gravitate to one of two thinking models. You either lean towards seeing things as black and white and taking advice and information as gospel or you see the grey, read between the lines and apply what may be relevant to you.

While both are extremely valuable ways of processing information I’d urge you to read the full blog here. It’s worded slightly technical but I think you should be able to grasp what he’s getting at if you read the first few paragraphs.

Get going

My girlfriend Amber shared a beautiful quote with me this week that I found very profound. It’s a great reminder to just get going and believe in whatever direction you choose to take your life in.

“I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story. From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked. One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was Ee Gee, the amazing editor, and another fig was Europe and Africa and South America, and another fig was Constantin and Socrates and Attila and a pack of other lovers with queer names and offbeat professions, and another fig was an Olympic lady crew champion, and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn't quite make out. I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn't make up my mind which of the figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.”

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!