TEJI TUESDAYS - 17 September 2024

slowing down, admitting what you don't know, streetview art, be specific, free workshop

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #047 · 17th September, 2024

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

Slow down to speed up

Last week I found a great quote by Haruki Murakami that said:

Sometimes taking time is actually a shortcut.”

I know it sounds paradoxical but it’s a funny truth that applies to a lot of different areas in life. For example if you tried to rush through a huge project in a couple days you’re probably going to burn out and put it away and potentially quit altogether. Whereas if you break whatever you might be working on into small manageable chunks over a longer period of time — that project becomes much more manageable and you will be able to keep your motivation throughout the project.

Another example of this idea is how Ernest Hemingway used to write his novels.

By doing the above he’s able to continue at something as hard as writing a novel. Now, this idea doesn’t just apply to writing but life. Try think for yourself here about one area in your life you could slow down in to ironically become more efficient at.

Learning to admit what you don’t know

Found this great extract from a short blog post on becoming more perceptive you can check out here.

Making Art using Google Street View

Check out this cool series of artworks I found on Instagram last week created back in 2012 by Paolo Cirio.

Go wide by going specific

I’m a huge believer in the existence of contradiction in the world. Much like the advice at the top of this newsletter about slowing down to speed up, another paradox I’ve recently been pondering is that the more specific you make something to you, inversely it weirdly opens it more to other people.

My hiatus from creating content online for the time being has been to do exactly with this concept. Recently I’ve taken some time to slow down so that I can create something I’m genuinely proud of with the world that has a real piece of me inside of it. More of that later..

For now check out the clip that reminded me of this idea that’d been lingering in my head below.

Another reminder about my free workshop!

This will be the last time I remind you on here about my free workshop I will be hosting in Sydney for anyone interested in learning about how they can start putting their digital art, music or text on the blockchain and start growing an entirely new audience in the web3 space.

During the workshop I will cover:

1) What is an NFT?
2) Why you should create NFTs
3) How to create NFTs
4) How to grow your audience

Note: notice how I’ve said nothing about why you should buy or invest in NFTs. This is because these are not supposed to be investment vehicles but digital tokens to prove ownership and association of certain online goods.

If you’d like to attend the workshop register ASAP at → https://lu.ma/tibbuoog

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.