TEJI TUESDAYS - 17 June 2024

closed mouths, love of writing, crypto again, monofication, mono culture, values

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #034 · 18th June, 2024

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

Closed mouths don’t get fed

One thing I’ve learnt over the years is that you never know unless you ask and while for the majority of the time you will most likely get rejected — you won’t ever eat unless you open your mouth. If you’re interested in hearing more of my thoughts on just asking feel free to check out a blog post a wrote a few months back here.

The reason why I love writing

If you read my newsletter or have ever read one of my blog posts you would’ve noticed this year I’ve written a lot. One thing that writing has forced me to do is put together my thoughts in a coherent way.

Learning to explain concepts or how I think about certain topics helps refine my own knowledge and principles. From this I’ve been able to begin putting down principles for what drives me in life. Whereas before it would just be up in the air, ever changing with the wind.

A good test I have for myself if I ever want to test my knowledge on any particular subject is to see if I can explain it to someone. To me writing goes two ways — the audience gets some kind of value while I also derive value from working through my thoughts.

One person teaches two people learn

Tiago Forte

Crypto again?

Fred again recently played his first stadium show, before the show he threw a secret listening party for 150 people he tracked down that had attended one of his shows in 2021 before he blew up.

Now what does this have to do with crypto?

If ticketing were onchain — which I believe is coming.

Fred would’ve had a public database of his early supporters at the click of a button without the need for relying on companies Tiketek.

Now of course early fred again tickets would most likely have some kind of value. But what if there’s more to onchain ticketing beyond just the money.

If Fred wanted he could easily transfer early supporters a “non-transferable” ticket to one of his secret listening parties to combat toxic resellers.

He could also perform in any city and program the tickets to ensure his early fans could claim free merchandise all onchain.

This is just the tip of the iceberg and there are an infinite amount of use cases beyond the ones I’ve listed above.

This post was adapted from a tweet I saw last week by 0xDesigner.

Everything is becoming the same

Culture is becoming one. Vertical video has taken over all mainstream social platforms and everyone is trying to be like everyone else. As much as I love and advocate for my philosophy on everything being a remix I’m beginning to yearn for the inventors and innovators who don’t just recycle the same ideas done before them. Check out an interesting short I found on instagram last week from a random Korean podcast I found really interesting.

Defining my values

As an online and offline creator I often question why I do what I do. It can be hard to keep working without a set of values or principles that guide you in the right direction. I’m still working through some ideas but as of now here are some of the things I’m putting on my own personal list.

  • Intrinsic value > perceived value

  • Timelessness

  • Privacy

  • Efficiency

  • Transparency

  • Ownership

  • Empathy

The reason why I’m even trying to piece together my principles is because across the board we have lost meaning. If you’ve scrolled on TikTok the current cultural zeitgeist with the kids is all skibbydopopbop bing bong bingo lalala brain rot content.

I don’t have the answers yet and am still working towards something but it’s something I’m mindful of moving forward with what I create and be a part of.

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!