TEJI TUESDAYS - 16 July 2024

will.i.am on AI, mortality, book clubs, everything matters, how i write podcast

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #038 · 16th July, 2024

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

How will.i.am Fell In Love With AI At MIT

Last week one of our readers Mandi sent in a great video on will.i.am talking about AI. If your in anyway interested in AI I’d recommended giving the video a watch. Especially since will.i.am has always been an innovator not only in music but in taste and culture.

I have an inkling that effectively being able to explain yourself using language is going to become a huge part of programming artificial intelligence efficiently.

If you’re in anyway fearful of AI this video will give you some hope.

Also, if ever you have something interesting you think our readers might enjoy don’t ever be afraid to send me a message :)

A gentle reminder

Take a look at this diagram below and find where you sit. While it is scary to think about our mortality and the fact that one day we won’t be here it’s also a great reminder to make the most of each and every day you get.

I’ve recently pivoted away from trying to think in years and have focused on trying to live day by day to the best of my ability. I’m someone who is a huge over-thinker and easily get trapped in my own thoughts.

So taking everything day by day makes living a little easier. I know you probably have things you’re worried about panning out in the next few weeks, months and even years because I sure do.

You only get so many days on this planet so try make the most of them if you’ve been fortunate enough to have woken another day.

I’m not trying to motivate you in anyway I’m just telling you how I’ve tried to change my perspective on living in such turbulent times in history.

If you’d like more visualisations like the one below check out the full article here.

I joined an online book club

Yesterday I stumbled upon a virtual book club that reads about six books a month. I know that sounds crazy but the cool thing is that it’s self directed and you can choose what book you’d like to read.

I’m personally committing to reading Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace an author who’ve I’ve been inspired heavily by as of late. The book is a whopping 1000 pages long and most people never actually finish it even thought its considered a modern day classic.

Each Sunday the group joins zoom calls to discuss the chapters and go over anything that didn’t make sense. I’m excited to report back to you on my experience and to see if sharing something as intimate as reading a novel alongside a group can help bring extra meaning and fulfilment.

I think it will be extra helpful especially for a book as heavy both literally and thematically as Infinite Jest.

This is in no way an ad for the book club, I just stumbled upon this english teacher who is really passionate about reading and writing and thought I’d give his book club a go. If you’d like to learn more check out this link here.

Everything is a joke

Everything has become so unserious. I completely understand why but there’s a part in all of us that yearns for deeper thinking and meaning. Humour can be one of the best tools when dealing with hardship but when overused we can often stop caring about everything since everything in our life has become a joke.

I used to think like this all the time and it was a great coping mechanism especially getting through university where I’d tell myself it’s not that serious and at the end of the day it doesn’t really matter — which is both true and false at the same time. Because in reality it does matter. Everything matters. Your friends matter, your health matters and your life matters.

Not everything should be a joke. TikTok and almost every other social media platform has become one big ironic inside joke. I completely understand how fucked up the world is and some of the darker depths of reality but we won’t be able to move forward if we don’t address this and take things seriously every now and again.

David Foster Wallace who I mentioned above spoke thoroughly on how humor and irony ruined America. I know it’s scary to actually take things seriously and realise there are consequences for you actions but it’s an essential component on building a meaningful life in my opinion.

There’s a great video from the guy who’s running the book club I joined discussing Foster Wallace’s views on the subject matter in detail if you interested in anyway.

Everything matters, especially humor.

Great podcast on writing

If you’re interested in writing or storytelling in anyway I’ve recently been listening to a fantastic podcast called How I Write with David Perrell. David brings on a tonne of great active writers who often have timeless advice on communication. Check out the latest episode I enjoyed listening to here.

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!