TEJI TUESDAYS - 13th February 2024

life principles, web3 for dummies, staying small vs going mainstream, $20 yeezys, inspiration

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #016 · 13th Feb, 2024

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

30 Things I Try To Live By As A 23 Year Old Trying To Figure It Out

At the start of this year I wrote a blog post featuring the 30 principles I try to live by and ended up getting a tonne of positive feedback on some of those principles so I thought I’d make an extended video explaining some of those points. Check it out below!

Web3 for dummies

Last week I found a fantastic video on YouTube featuring Chris Dixon and Gary Vee. The conversation between the two is very insightful especially when it comes to the future of the internet and the rise of web3, blockchains, nfts and cryptocurrencies.

After watching the episode I immediately bought Chris’s new book Read Write Own after resonating so much with what he was saying. I’m only 30% into the book so far but I think it’s a fantastic entry into the history of the Internet all the way up to now.

If you are in anyway interested in web3/blockchain technology this is a must read book that I’m going to continue to recommend to people whenever someone has any questions for me regarding the extremely confusing world of crypto.

(fyi. now is a great time to dive back into crypto now that mainstream media has seemed to moved on from the space.)

Going small over mainstream

Yesterday an email landed in my inbox with an article titled Creators: go small. It’s your edge. I thought this take was extremely interesting as it’s on a similar wave length to what I spoke on last week about attracting the right people not necessarily all the people.

It may sound counter-intuitive to growth but I have a feeling finding the right people will pay dividends down the line. Especially since I want to develop a deep relationship with my audience.

Previously on YouTube I’d try and make content that was broadly appealing to large audiences but I thought I’d try switch it up and just start making content about whatever I want to. I’m unsure how this experiment will go but I’m excited to keep iterating on my process.

$20 Yeezys

Yesterday Kanye West announced everything on yeezy.com was for sale for literally $20. I remember hearing him speak on this over a year ago and wasn’t sure how he was going to bring this vision into reality but I think it’s fantastic he’s making designer level products accessible to everyone.

As of right now it appears everything on the store is still $20. I’m unsure how long this will last but if you ever wanted to get anything from Ye now is probably a good time.

I hope other companies can follow in Ye’s footsteps by making expensive product more accessible by sacrificing a portion of profits so the general public can get more value for their dollar.

I also plan on releasing an extremely accessible product very soon so keep your eyes on for that if you’ve ever wanted to own something designed by myself.

My biggest inspirations

For anyone wondering about who inspires me here is a list I put together of people who have had a significant impact on the work I make. Feel free to research any of these names to hopefully find a source of inspiration for anything you might be working on.

I’m also curious if any names might appear both my list and your list of people who inspire us.

  • Adam Bohn

  • Alex Headlam

  • Andrew Callaghan

  • Austin Babbitt

  • Benjamin Reichwald

  • Casey Neistat

  • Cole Bennett

  • Colm Dillane

  • David Choe

  • DeAndre Cortez Way

  • Gary Vaynerchuck

  • Jared Higgins

  • Kanye West

  • Kyle Forgeard

  • Satoshi Nakamoto

  • Steven Spielberg

  • Takashi Murakami

  • Tom Sachs

  • Tyler Okonma

  • Virgil Abloh

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!