TEJI TUESDAYS - 12th March 2024

rebrand, mint first, digital connections, blockchains banksy, accepting yourself

TEJI TUESDAYS 
Issue #020 · 19th Dec, 2023

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of TEJI, a weekly round up of what I’m pondering and exploring. Feel free to forward along to a friend if you think they might enjoy.

TEJI TUESDAYS is rebranding → WILLI WEEKLY

Over the next few weeks I will be transitioning over to @JETWILLI on all social media accounts while TEJI and @TEJITOPIA will remain as brand distinct from myself.

I’ve come to this decision to ensure there is no confusion between the two. It will help me build out the TEJI brand while ensuring people understand the differences both myself and the brand.

I’m by no means quitting building out the TEJI brand but just making a clear separation that opens the door for others to come help out with the brand. It will also allow TEJI to develop his own personality as it goes beyond just myself.

If you’re interested in joining the TEJITOPIA team please reach out.

Why you need to be minting your content

“Mint your content to take ownership of it, and then share it as far and wide as possible across all of your favourite rite social media platforms. You can do both.

Worst case: you're the only one that minted it and now you have a public and permanent archive. Best case: your community has a direct channel to collect and support you and your work. There isn't much to lose.”

The above is an extract taken from a blog post you should read if you’re on the sidelines about bringing your work on to the blockchain.

This is an approach I’m going to personally be taking moving forward. By bringing my content to the blockchain it opens a direct channel for support that allows for a historical record of early supporters.

Also, if my friend Josh is reading this or any other designer. You should mint your show notes or sketches for designs of your clothes for collectors. While the majority of your audience is most likely unaware of collecting digital items onchain you may very well build a whole new audience who would’ve never known about your content in the first place.

Why digital first connections is what we needed

The above diagram is from a blog post I found last week explaining the benefits of forming connections digitally first. In my own experience the people I meet first online are often more aligned with what I’m interested in compared to the people who you get to know from school, town or community.

For example, I helped build a digital art collective called Making It from the other side of the world and when I eventually flew over to the states to throw a show and meet with everyone. We all got along so well because we all had the same interests and things we were passionate about.

However, don’t feel like you can only make these digital connections with people only on the other side of the world. There are people in your own city who are into the same things your into. Whether thats music, running or fashion these people exist. If you see these communities or people online reach out and catch up with people you think align with your beliefs.

It’s how I met my good friend Max who ended up hitchhiking across America with me. I needed help filming a video in the city and saw that he was killing it doing videos in Sydney so I sent him a dm. Two months later we’re hitchhiking across America.

Who knows what can happen if you take the chance to reach out.

Banksy of The Blockchain

This week I found a super talented artist named SHL0MS trolling the internet one artwork at a time. His latest stunt included a fake email from Google announcing the shutdown of Gmail in the coming weeks, sending Twitter into a spiral panicking over what they are going to do when the service shuts down.

It even had Elon jokingly announce X-Mail to take gmails place. SHL0MS also ended up selling the screenshot of the email for $60,000 over on Foundation as an NFT.

You can read more about this performance art piece here. I’m a huge fan of his work and will continue following his journey.

The only way out is in, embracing the mid curve

Last week I wrote a blog post on accepting the complex nature of the self in the face of the unknown. If your interested feel free having a read here.

Feel free to give me feedback on Twitter. What did you like? What do you want more of? What do you want less of? Other suggestions? Please let me know. Just send a tweet to @TEJITOPIA and put #TEJITUESDAYS at the end so I can find it.

Hope everyone enjoys their week!

Love

TEJI (@tejitopia)

Forwarded this message?

Sign up below.

Wow, if you really just read through my newsletter you deserve a discount code from the TEJITOPIA store just use “ICANREAD” at the checkout for 10% off your order!